My mission is to travel to all 47 prefectures in Japan. I have also memorized the prefectural map of Japan by heart. ^^

In this post, I have included the prefecture breakdown of my blog posts by regions for your easy reference. For alphabetical order, you may refer to the right hand drop-down side bar, “Various Cheese”.

Come. Let’s study a little about Japan geography 101 today.


Before moving on to the 47 prefectures, first please memorize the different regions of Japan by heart. Japan is made of 4 main islands – Hokkaido, Honshu (the main island), Shikoku and Kyushu.

Also, many people have mistaken popular cities like Kobe and Nagoya as a prefecture itself, and often have trouble finding the suitable categories. Here are some common cities and towns that people often mix up as prefectures:

Kobe – capital city of Hyogo Prefecture
Nagoya – capital city of Aichi Prefecture
Hakone – hotspring town in Kanagawa Prefecture
Yokohama – capital city of Kanagawa Prefecture

Also, Tokyo Disney Resorts are technically in Chiba prefecture, although I have categorized them under Tokyo.

Mt Fuji is sitting at the border of Yamanashi & Shizuoka Prefecture. Gotemba and Fuji Safari Park are in Shizuoka whereas Lake Kawaguchi and Fuji Q Highland belong to Yamanashi. So make sure you know which prefecture to check off, if you’re on the same mission as me! ^^


Fun facts:

In Japanese, 47 Prefectures are called 47 Todōfuken (都道府県). Most prefectures are categorized as Ken (県) – prefecture. For example, in Japanese you refer Kanagawa Prefecture as “Kanagawa Ken” (神奈川県), Aomori Ken (青森県), etc. However there are a few exceptions.

Hokkaido is a Dō (道) – territory. Technically, it is Hokkai Dō – Literally “Northern Sea Territory”
Tokyo is called a To (都) – metropolis
Osaka and Kyoto is called Fu – (府) province, as they were two of the oldest urban cities during Meiji period along with Edo (Tokyo). “Fu” was used to differentiate itself as an urban prefecture as opposed to “Ken”, a suburb prefecture. So in a way “Fu” is higher ranked in old times.

Another random fun fact – The governor of a prefecture is called a Chiji (知事). And my nick name is Japanese is Chījī. There was once I had a talk show about Kyoto with the presence of Kyoto’s Governor, there was a lot of confusion going on stage. It was awkward but very funny. Chiji  VS Chījī (知事 VS 芝士, even in Chinese it is the same 😂).

That’s all about prefectural trivia! Let’s get into serious business!

Here’s the breakdown of my blog posts by regions and prefecture. I have covered 31 prefectures in blog posts (as of 25 Nov 2018), hopefully I will be able to link them all up soon enough!


Hokkaido 北海道



Aomori 青森

Akita 秋田

Iwate 岩手

Miyagi 宮城

Yamagata 山形

Fukushima 福島



Tokyo 東京

Kanagawa 神奈川


Saitama 埼玉

Gunma 群馬

Tochigi 栃木

Ibaraki 茨城



Shizuoka 静岡

Yamanashi 山梨

Nagano 長野

Niigata 新潟

Toyama 富山

Ishikawa 石川

Fukui 福井

Gifu 岐阜

Aichi 愛知



Osaka 大阪

Kyoto 京都

Nara 奈良

Hyogo 兵庫

Shiga 滋賀

Wakayama 和歌山

Mie 三重



Hiroshima 広島

Okayama 岡山

Shimane 島根

Tottori 鳥取

Yamaguchi 山口



Kagawa 香川

Ehime 愛媛

Kochi 高知

Tokushima 徳島



Fukuoka 福岡

Kumamoto 熊本

Oita 大分

Miyazaki 宮崎

Kagoshima 鹿児島

Nagasaki 長崎

Saga 佐賀



Okinawa 沖縄


Happy conquering your #47PrefectureMission! Let’s give Japan lots of love!